How to cure a 6-year-old’s insomnia

It’s the night before O’s first day of 1st grade.  He’s going to a new school (the same one M goes to) which means he gets to commute with his dad.  It also means he needs to be awake super early for a 6:40am departure.  Last year M handled the change to a new school like it was no big deal but O has been nervous for days now, even threatening to quit 1st grade and stay home with me to help take care of the dog.  So it’s no surprise that he’s having a hard time falling asleep:

(15 minutes after saying good night, I find him tapping his fingers on the wall)

O, you need to close your eyes and go to sleep.

I can’t sleep.

Are you nervous?

Yes.

Would you like me to read you a story to help you fall asleep?

Yes.  

What would you like me to read?

Um… Harry Potter.

No, that won’t work because you’ll want to hear the story and then you won’t fall asleep.  You need to think of something I can read that will put you to sleep.

Okay… I guess you can read the scriptures.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sally on August 24, 2009 at 11:59 am

    For my mother in law it’s the opposite. She listens to the HP tapes/cds to fall asleep. She figures she knows the story, J Dale’s voice is soothing and she doesn’t feel guilty for falling asleep while listening to the scriptures. Phil on the other hand falls asleep to reading the scriptures too.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Anna on August 24, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Owen and I have something in common.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Catherine Nagel on August 24, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    Hope his first day went ok…I am anxious to hear all about it!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Sean on August 26, 2009 at 1:03 am

    Works for my primary class in the middle of the day as well.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Holly on August 28, 2009 at 5:25 am

    ha! I should try that on my kids on those kind of nights. if it works for me it’ll prob work for them, too! ; )

    Reply

  6. The best are the general conference dvds. Most relaxing, soporific media ever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

