A post from HEN

Look what I did!!

DSC_0401

I especially like the way the glass didn’t shower down but rather splintered in the most bedazzling way. The glass crackled for several minutes. It sounded like rain. My brothers were mesmerized. It was so beautiful it brought tears to my mother’s eyes.

DSC_0383DSC_0397

DSC_0383a

About this post:

The panel of glass that broke is on the outside.

When the boys told me (I had no idea it had happened because there was no actually sound of breaking glass) “HEN did something really really really bad” I found him hiding under a chair in the living room.

There were no actual tears shed.  I’m waiting to hear how much it will cost to replace the door.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sally on August 19, 2009 at 1:07 am

    And yet you took pictures. I think I would have been too furious to even think of taking pictures, even if I wasn’t showing the furry to the kids. It does look cool though. You could just throw some kind of glue or something on both sides, call it artistic glass and not replace the door…

    Reply

  2. Posted by Anna on August 19, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    How did he break it?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Natalie on August 19, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Hopefully, your last broken window. I have to agree with Sally though, just add some glue and call it pretty.

    Reply

  4. Wow. I’m almost glad we haven’t gotten our glass door yet. How did he do that?

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sean on August 21, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    I think every boy must break a window or door as part of the rites of passage of growing up. Usually this is done with a baseball, but for me, I smashed my brother against our glass door during a fight. Not quite so honorable.

    Reply

  6. Yup, I think it’s pretty.
    Call it a privacy effect & call it good. If it’s on the outside, I’d just call it good.

    Reply

  7. Posted by oakleynagels on August 24, 2009 at 2:48 am

    We think he either summoned a large bird with magical powers but neglected to open the door for it, or else poked at the glass with a screwdriver over and over, harder and harder. Sadly, as soon as we tried to open and shut it, all the shards let go and fell. I vacuumed them up and when I dumped them in the garbage, they looked like so many diamonds. For a second, I contemplated a gargantuan ebay scam, but gave in to better judgment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

