Des Moines

Goates-in-laws live in Des Moines. We played some yard games, put the kids down and then the real fun began: Playstation Guitar Hero. It was pretty intense. Nathan is a prodigy. Valerie, less so. SJZ was busy making fun of everyone, so she never even tried it. And I was good at the songs I knew (Unsung, More than a Feeling, War Pigs, etc.) and terrible at the ones I didn’t (don’t recall their names either). The most useful comment of the night was from SJZ, who said sarcastically, “too bad we didn’t have this game in graduate school.” I think it was about 1:45 am when she said that.

dsc_0530.jpg
Before we got to Des Moines, we toured the University of Iowa campus in Iowa City. GORGEOUS. Cool buildings, new buildings, old buildings, lots of greenery and water. We took pictures in front of the Dey House, where Brady Udall got his MFA.

The next day of driving was our longest. Des Moines to Boulder, CO. We broke out the DVD players. SJZ listened to the book on tape of Wicked. We had already listened to a book called “Millions” which was really good.

2 responses to this post.

  1. You’ll have to tell me what you thought of Wicked. I’m still not sure what I think of it. Who wrote Millions?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Holly on July 9, 2007 at 4:01 am

    A friend mentioned Air Guitar on her blog, but I didn’t get what it was(and I’m still not sure I do). Sounds like some crazy silly fun though!

    I think the line “We broke out the DVD players” maust say a lot more about the drive than some other posts… šŸ˜‰

    What did you think of Wicked? There were some parts that seemed a little too intense/sensual, but a very deep kind of read. I’ve heard the musical is amazing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

